My Enyata Story - Guys, I won A Macbook

My Enyata Story - Guys, I won A Macbook

It all started with a tweet from Enyata on how they want to support 50 techies with Macbook.

enyata.jpg

Like everyone else I applied, I remember helping my sister with her application at night, we woke our brother up to help us out. With over 5000 applications, how were they going to pick 50?

It all started with a Quiz on the track you are in, I was in the Product Track - Product Management precisely. We submitted and waited for the next step - the cut-off mark. Well, I made the cut, unfortunately, my sister didn't.

The next thing was Proof of Work, a criterion that I believed differentiated a lot of people. They want to support 50 techies so you have to prove that in your chosen track, you have been working long before this opportunity came up and I had this.

2020 was my year of Product Management study, I had taken lots of courses and gotten certifications. Spoken at events about Product Management and also I took part in Saucecode Hackathon as the team lead/PM so I had the proof of work to show.

Like everyone, we were waiting for the final news of selection and one fateful afternoon, I was in the parlour when I started seeing notifications of congratulations.

At first, I was stunned like what's going? winner.jpg

First thing I did was to call a friend who tagged me on Twitter. He broke the news to me :

Blessing, you won

Omo, I went to verify and there it was on Benjamin Dada Blog my name - Number 5 under the Product track.

enyata winners.png

I screamed, it felt unreal I had just won a Macbook I cried oo😂😂 happy tears of course. This just made my 2020.

Fast forward to 2021, I am not based in Lagos so sadly I wasn't available to pick it up myself at the Awardee event and it felt like everyone had gotten their Macbook except me.☹️☹️

Mr Dayo called and I explained my problem of being in Abuja and he was really helpful, he mentioned that I could send someone to pick it up for me and this made my day. I posted it in StartupGrindife group about needing someone (we are like family there) and Damilare reached out. Damilare has a friend in Enyata who he reached out to for help.

Long story short, on February 5, my MacBook landed and it is safely in my hands. Hashnode doesn't allow videos so you can check out my excitement here

This is a Shout-out post to everyone involved in the process of getting my MacBook to me.

Thank you Mr Dayo of Enyata for this initiative, thank you Kelvin and Consonance for the 6 months free Pluralsight access to continue my study. Thank you to the best siblings in the world Daniel and Esther for helping me out all through the process

Thank you Damilare for connecting me to Abass and Torera who helped me out with the signing out. Shoutout to my Babes Barakat, and Victoria fellow Enyata winners. Victoria for being a listening ear in the days of no Macbook and to Barakat for connecting me to Shola of Logisfy, they flew my laptop safely to Abuja and Shola was always available to give me updates, I recommend them for safe delivery.

Everyone here played a role in my happiness and I am super grateful to you all. May you always find helpers when you need them. Thank you once more and God bless you all.

And to you reader, thank you for reading and I look forward to reading your wins too.